I Can Do That!

Fresh out of the military, I wanted work. There was an opening at a processing plant to build and install machinery. “I can do that”, I thought and went for an interview.

The Chief Engineer asked if I could weld. I had tried once. “Yep,” I said. He asked me if I could read blueprints. I didn’t know if I couldn’t so I said, “Yes.” He told me to be there the following day at 8:00.

The next morning, my new boss handed me a roll of blueprints and said, “Get a welder from the tool crib and build this system of conveyors in the building next door”. “OK” I said and left.

I rolled a welder into the building, set it the way someone else had his, unrolled the blueprints and started. The prints seemed obvious. I mimicked the way others worked and copied their techniques. I never told anyone I didn’t know what I was doing and they never let on they knew it. They just offered suggestions and I listened.

One day it was done. All 8 conveyors worked! I was thrilled. In the three months it took to build that system, I’d learned basic layout & welding, electrical systems, conveyor belts, drive chains & sprockets, steam & water line plumbing and machinery installation.

The entire time, I assumed I could do the job. This was made a reality by men giving me guidance, intuitive moments of understanding and the fact that the Chief Engineer only came around when I was doing well.

Always affirm the desired result. The universe supports this. Consciously choose the direction for your life and you will have it.

16 Comments

Filed under 1

16 responses to “I Can Do That!

  1. Robert – that is awesome and very true. I agree and it is great to get reminders because sometimes I forget to practice this 😉
    Jette

    • Thanks for the reply, Jette. It’s really just a matter of practicing until it becomes a habit. Then you catch yourself at it. 🙂

      Thanks, Robert

  2. Thanks Robert, I needed that reminder. I know it’s true!

    • Hi Kay, I’m glad to hear it rang true for you. That’s the real reward with these posts.

      Thanks, Robert

    • Kevin Holt

      I am in somewhat of the same situation. I had a guy call me wanting someone to go on a job for him and install conveyor. I have been installing conveyor for several years, but I don’t know much about blueprints and schematics. When he called he asked if I could read blueprints and wants someone to run the job in a forman postition. Because jobs are so hard to get I told him I could and would. The job kicks off in less than two weeks. Do you have any information as to where and how I can learn quickly. Thank you for your help.

      • It sounds like you are going to learn fast. For me, the education was partly provided by the other men working nearby. Some was intuitive. At all times, I believed in the power of the universe to provide what I needed. It did just that.
        If you know someone who has more expertise in this area than you, talk with him. Inner confidence that you will be successful is the key. Keep open to guidance and follow your intuition. When opportunities appear, accept them with gratitude.

  3. Hi Robert, Thanks for sending this. You and I have used the same method, we didn’t know we couldn’t, so we did.
    This has been called ‘intelligent ignorance’, bumblebees don’t know they can’t fly —because their body is too big and their wings are too short.—So they fly anyway.

    Have been told it is scientifically impossible to remove pollutants from water without physical means—did it anyway.

    Wishing you the BEST life has to offer.
    Your Friend,
    Raymon

    • Hi Raymon, Good hearing from you. “intellegent ignorance” is definitely useful, especially when used intentionally. That’s great work you’re doing with the polutants. We should talk again one of these days.

      Best to you, as well.
      Robert

  4. laurie

    Thanks for reminding me that the universe does support us!

  5. Tom aka Forty Rod

    Bob, my dad was a master at this. He was forced out of his home at 10 years old and went to live with an uncle. Two years later he was a farm hand and a couple of years after that he was running errands in a railroad roundhouse. He was 23 when he graduated high school, 32 when he graduated college, got his Masters at 54, etc. No one ever told him that he was too short (about 5’5″0, or too light (155 pounds) or too anything else.

    He lived by the philosophy that you’re stating here. When he died he left Mom with over a million dollars in money and assets, was honored by the college and the community, and loved by more people than most will ever know.

    Not bad for a poor kid from the Ozarks, “victim” of a broken home, and so on.

    Come to think of it, I haven’t done badly myself, following those principles.

    Thanks for reminding me.

    Tom

    • Thanks for the story of your dad, Tom. It was fun to read. This sure does underline how one’s life can be determined by attitude.

      Robert

  6. Great story Robert. If you put your mind to it you can accomplish anything.

Leave a Reply

